Are you new to the area?
Welcome to Cary and the surrounding area! We hope the following information will make your relocation easier.
You are required by law to license all vehicles within 30 days of establishing residency in NC. Before going to the License Plate Office you must obtain vehicle insurance from a company licensed in North Carolina. After taking out proper vehicle insurance go to the DMV with your vehicle title, and be prepared to pay a “Use Tax” on the current value of each vehicle, 3% not to exceed $300. You should call first to make sure you have everything ready the first time.
North Carolina Drivers License Agency
You are required by law to obtain a NC license within 30 days of establishing residency in NC. You may have to take a test (written or driving) and expect long lines early in the morning, lunchtime, and at the end of the day. You should call first to make sure you have every thing you need. You can also register to vote at the Drivers License office.